Saturday, February 6, 2010

Fun Diving in Semporna

Tun Sakaran Marine Park (TSMP) are situated at the entrance to Darvel Bay, off the East coast of Sabah near the town of Semporna, it took about 45 minutes by speed boat from the jetty of this small town. Named after then the Head of State of Sabah, Tun Sakaran Dandai, it was gazetted in July 2004 as Sabah’s seventh park. The Park is the largest Marine Park and covering 340 sq kilometers of sea and corals reef and 10 sq kilometers of land.
Comprising 8 islands, their surrounding reefs, and sea. Its main objective is to protect their environment and to promote sustainable use of natural resources. Geologically, the islands are formed from Quaternary pyroclastic material, which was ejected during explosive volcanic activity. Pulau Bodgaya, Boheydulang, Tetagan, Selakan, Sebangkat, Maiga, Sibuan and Mantabuan.
TSMP is one favourite spot for divers. Rich marine life may be found when diving in this park area. There is also hills which attracts for rock climbing activity. From scientific study carried out by Dr.Elizabeth Wood for over 20 years , found that the richness of marine life in TMTS is standing on par with the marine life of ‘Great Barrier Reefs' in Australia.
The Bajau Laut (Sea Gypsies) lived a nomad lifestyle on boats adding to the uniqueness of the Park. 

image by Wazari Wazir

   Add RM 350 for 3 Fun Dives at Tun Sakaran Marine Park Islands (Mataking/Timbatimba/Boheydulang/Bodgaya/Bohayan)

* Instructor/ Dive Master will decide/update where's the location on daily basis base on the weather
* All divers depart from Semporna not from Mabul

No comments:

Post a Comment